Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-February-2004, 20:36
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Arrow Scanner no longer works under Windows XP

Genius ColorPage Vivid 3X worked fine on old PC under Win.98, and it worked sluggishly but ok when connected to this PC using XP (via parallel port).

Being a smart *rse I looked for a more compatible XP driver and found an unofficial one, which I tried and nothing worked.

So, uninstalled it, reinstalled the Win.98 one that comes on the installation CD and rebooted and now it doesn't work whatsoever

Just sits there with it's yellow power button on

It used to work with Paint Shop Pro 7 under

FILE > IMPORT > TWAIN > ACQUIRE but that doesn't work either and I keep getting the error below :




It also isn't even detected in XP using Control Panel > Scanners

If only we could get it just about working with the Win.98 driver we'd be over the moon, but alas, it looks like old MegaT has fouled up yet again

The online PSP help website says this error is because the drivers aren't installed properly

But how come it worked when we first connected it to this PC, and has now totally refused to do anything just because I installed an XP driver, then uninstalled it, before reinstalling the one it worked with (albeit slowly) before ?


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-February-2004, 20:50
Tony
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

cannot see it working with the win98 driver

a few things to try,

1. uninstall the 98 driver if you can

2. power down and unplug the scanner, then power up again

3. power down and plug in the scanner then power up, hopefully XP will then find the scanner and install its own driver

if not then go to find new hardware and force it to find the scanner

if non of that works look for a driver for windows 2000, that may work and would certainly have a better chance than the 98 driver
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-February-2004, 08:39
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

No luck, and this XP driver is a combined Windows 2000 / XP one
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-February-2004, 10:27
Worldlife's Avatar
Worldlife Worldlife is offline
Safe Sane Consensual
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 14,843
Default

Have you checked to see if there is a compatible scanner to your one marketed under a different brand name?

Found that Umax had no updated drivers for their Astra scanner yet I was able to use an HP one very successfully - in fact the installation software and driver is better than the original!!!!!

I'll find the thread and pop it to the top..........
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-February-2004, 13:53
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

How do I know if there is a compatible scanner to mine marketed under a different brand name?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-February-2004, 14:17
Worldlife's Avatar
Worldlife Worldlife is offline
Safe Sane Consensual
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 14,843
Default

Mega....On the searches I did for a driver for my Umax I read a few forums where the subject had been raised and found the information concerning a oompatible driver on one of them.

In your case a search by Google reveals there are a number of drivers available e.g.

http://www.pc-drivers.net/drivers_sc...nload_141.html

Perhaps you were just unlucky with the installation of the one you selected!!!

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-February-2004, 18:28
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

That's exactly what we need, an XP driver for our ColorPage Vivid 3X scanner

But as usual, we can't download it



Damn computers and technology

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-February-2004, 18:40
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default

duno if this is any help

driver for genuis ColorPage-Vivid 3X

Driver for Windows 98/ME/2000/XP (FOR WINDOWS XP PLEASE READ INSTRUCTION BEFORE INSTALLING)

http://www.geniusnet.com.tw/ftp/scanner/v3x_xe.exe

posted direct dl link as page for drivers takes ages to load

http://www.geniusnet.com.tw/download...ult.asp?plno=6
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-February-2004, 19:05
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Thanks Scoobs - we've tried that v3x_xe.exe one and it doesn't work
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-February-2004, 19:12
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default

what did the insructions say for installing with xp.

you might have to go to the inf folder and remover the scanner from inf file from there before reinstalling as it will keep details there
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-February-2004, 19:27
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Do I uninstall the scanner and software, then turn off the PC, unplug the scanner from the power supply AND back of PC, reboot, run the v3x_xe.exe file, reboot the PC, turn it off. Connect scanner to back of PC and power supply.... then what ?

Windows XP doesn't even recognise a scanner is connected ?

I can do add hardware then point the program at the extracted .exe files for the *.inf file, then reboot, but then what ?

I seem to be going round in circles here
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-February-2004, 19:34
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Originally posted by Tony
cannot see it working with the win98 driver

a few things to try,

1. uninstall the 98 driver if you can
How ? Do you mean uninstall the scanner program ?

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-February-2004, 20:36
Tony
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

difficult to know as it depends where the driver comes from

have you loaded a driver or just the scanner program, if the former then if the scanner is in hardware profile then uninstall driver there

if not then uninstall the scanner program, in truth the 98 driver is probarbly doing no harm as it will not have seen XP, but something has turned the scanner off so you need to get rid of all the software you have loaded

can you do a system restore to before you loaded all the stuff that now does not work
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-February-2004, 21:16
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Will answer your post later Tony but for now.....

Is an ECP Printer Port (LPT1) the same as an EPP Port ?

Remember something about mine being to do with EPP whatever that is ?

Maybe that's why mine won't work on this new PC yet did on the old one ?

Nah, cos it briefly worked on this one when we first connected it up.... oh hell
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-February-2004, 21:18
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

.

Last edited by MegaTsunami; 09-February-2004 at 21:37.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-February-2004, 21:33
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Just checked and this mobo does support EPP :

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-February-2004, 21:40
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

So, a Parallel Port (whether ECP/EPP) is also a Printer (LPT1) port



Sorry, I'm getting sidetracked there !



It's NOT my ports that are faulty. FACT.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-February-2004, 21:45
Tony
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

no its not your posts as you have had it working, it is a driver that is wrong or missing
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-February-2004, 01:24
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Printer port, LPT, PAR, parallel port are all the same thing.

You may need to play with your printer port settings in your bios. Try different settings such as Normal, EPP, ECP etc but leave IRQ and I/O settings aone. Is there anything in the scanner manual or docs regarding LPT setup?

The link provided by Worldlife does work, but it's for v3x_xe.exe. If you want to retry this file and still can't access it, I can retrieve it for you and store it on my FTP if you like.

<Quick Update>
Q:Error Message: "Scanner Not Found" or "Program was unable to find your scanner"
A: Check the setting for the parallel port within the BIOSof your PC. The scanner works best with the parallel port set to I/O 378h and EPP. After you have the correct parallel port settings, reboot the computer. Verify the scanner through the Scanner Utility by clicking START| PROGRAMS|GENIUS SCANNER| SCANNER UTILITY.
http://www.geniusnet.com.tw/support/...8_vividiii.htm

Last edited by Zer02004; 10-February-2004 at 01:31.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-February-2004, 08:39
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Thanks for that, will try that tonight when I've finished work, but before that, this is what I saw when I went to CONTROL PANEL > HARDWARE > SYSTEM (look at all those scanners installed !), also included is the error dialog box when I right click one and try to uninstall one



HELP !
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-February-2004, 13:42
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Dinner time boost !
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-February-2004, 13:43
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Oh yeah, in the mobo BIOS, my Parallel Port is already set to EPP

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-February-2004, 15:23
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Disconnect the scanner from the computer.
Remove any software related to the scanner via the add/remove programs applet.
Now remove all those entries via the device manager applet.
Once the system is clear of anything to do with the scanner, set a restore point, switch off and connect the scanner.
Download the drivers.

If there's no executable setup, create a folder and expand the file to the folder that you just created.
Now reboot and if the computer asks for drivers, point it to the folder that you just created.

If the driver package contains an executable setup file, close down as before, connect the scanner and reboot.
If Windows finds new hardware, ignore it.
Once you've fully booted, open the device manager applet and remove any erroneous entries with regard to the scanner.
Now run the driver setup executable.

<Quick edit>
I've downloaded the driver package v3x_xe.exe. It's a multi setup pack but it does contain drivers for your scanner. The setup instructions (An rtf file) refer to the "Colour Page Vivid 4" scanner. Ignore these included instructions as this is a USB device.

Last edited by Zer02004; 10-February-2004 at 19:03.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-February-2004, 20:51
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Originally posted by Zer0 2004
Disconnect the scanner from the computer.
Done.
Remove any software related to the scanner via the add/remove programs applet.
Done.
Now remove all those entries via the device manager applet.
Not done. It just won't let me remove (uninstall) those 'unknown device' entries under Imaging Devices

Just keep on getting the damned same "FAILED TO UNINSTALL THE DEVICE. THE DEVICE MAY BE REQUIRED TO BOOT UP THE COMPUTER" messages.

So, I simply can't right-click > uninstall them, all I can do is right-click > disable them, but they're still there when I rebooted

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-February-2004, 21:26
greatlover's Avatar
greatlover greatlover is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 433
Default

Mega Tsunami, re scanner. I run XP and when I first used my scanner, a Packard Bell Diamond 1200, it would not work properly so got onto P B. I had to download a 'patch' from Microsoft, it has worked ok ever since. I don't know if this will help or not. greatlover
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-February-2004, 01:25
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are you certain that all scanner related software has been removed.
Are there any entries in Win.ini and System.ini?
Have you tried booting in safe mode and removing them?
If you still can't remove them, try installing the drivers anyway. Win XP sometimes "cures itself" once the correct drivers have been found.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-February-2004, 08:48
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Thanks greatlover.

Zer0 2004 - all scanner related software has been removed.

There are NO entries in Win.ini and System.ini.

I have tried booting up in safe mode and removing them, it still won't let me

Will try reinstalling the XP driver now... fingers crossed.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-February-2004, 13:54
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

Bloody hell fire

Some relaxing lunch break this is






Yet, if I go to START > Programs > Genius ColorPage > Scanner Utility...
I get this screen (so the scanner must be working somehow ?!?!)



What the heck is going on please ?

Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-February-2004, 13:56
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

And Windows XP didn't find new hardware upon rebooting.

G R R R R R R R ! ! ! ! ! !

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-February-2004, 19:37
MegaTsunami MegaTsunami is offline
Waves goodbye
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 3,026
Default

You all given up on me then ?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, email, feature, files, google, internet, line, lost, online, port, product, remover, screen, settings, shop, slow, software, tools, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!