Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16-January-2004, 14:44
Blue Smiley
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

Tried to install Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness earlier, no probs with the first disc, put the second one in error comes up saying 'Release.cab file error' it says to check see if the file is there which it is! Can ayone help? thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-January-2004, 11:15
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default

may be an error in the actual file, not that the file is missing.

I believe windows or some archive software can open cabs. Else it may be a scratched CD.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-January-2004, 20:05
Blue Smiley
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi i tried a cab opening program, no luck. Thing is i tried to install the game on my Moms much older pc, installed fine even if the specs are that low cant run it! She has windows ME i have XP you think that might have something to do with it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-August-2005, 09:25
cyberguy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Re: Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

Hi, I got the same problem with tomb raider the angel of darkness, that it doesn't find the release.cab. file. I checked it, and there wasn't that kind of a file at all... . Can someone please help me, if someone has it would you be so kind to send it to me!


Cyberguy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-May-2006, 14:44
Peter1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

Hi Cyberguy, I've your same problem!
Have you found the "release.cab" file?
If you have it, can you send it to me, please?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-May-2006, 15:34
bouncingjohn's Avatar
bouncingjohn bouncingjohn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

I know this isn't very helpful, but AOD is a terrible game - you're better off not installing it.
__________________
Sensible children!! I have no power over them!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-May-2006, 16:12
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

Release.cab is in the root of CD2 along with Common.cab. It's around 85M in size.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-May-2006, 23:53
The Beef's Avatar
The Beef The Beef is offline
我們被注定
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: From Southport
Posts: 2,114
Default Re: Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

Have a look at http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?t=34822
TBH though, I wouldn't bother with AOD. It is an absolutely awful game. Badly designed and a pig to control. Loads of glitches too. Also once you've sorted your CAB problem you will encounter more. But it's up to you.
__________________
Beef.

"Thinking about what you might not be able to control, only wastes time and energy, till it eventually becomes your enemy."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-July-2006, 20:05
heraldo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default release.cab tomb raider solution

Hey i think that i solved the problem

a) I download the game (torrent file -two cd images-) 07/07/06:zap:
b) i burn each cd with nero, and install from cd but the release error appear
c) i dowload the isobuster program, and extract the release.cab file from the image file
d) i copy the cds in the hard disk and use that setup
e) delete the old release.cab and remplace it with the newone from isobuster, complete the instalation

after that i play the game,
the lever 4 don`t work!! only i see in the screen " insert disc 1" i put the cd in the cd rom unit and.... nothing happens so i extract the folder "maps" from the image of the cd 1 and remplacet it in the eidos interactive forder and that all! i m playing the level 4.

Sorry for bad english, i live in Costa Rica
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-July-2006, 20:55
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

For experimental purposes it would be much easier to use a "virtual CD drive" and mount the images on that.
As far as I know, there is no copyright protection except for the old style CD check which is easily circumvented via a virtual drive or a widely available "no CD" crack.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-May-2007, 07:31
pokie71
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Tomb Raider AOD 'Release.cab' install error

this worked for me. copy & past all files in to foder 1 (disk 1 foder)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bad, crack, files, screen, software, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!