Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > General Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15-March-2010, 12:07
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Question Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Microsoft Security Essentials ? Does anyone use it? If so; Is it as good as any other Antivirus & spyware?

TIA
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-March-2010, 20:14
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

It's so new that I hadn't heard of it.
It's just come out of an extremely short (for microsoft) beta period, and has only been available for a short while.
The reviews I've read seam to give it a thumbs up.
http://arstechnica.com/microsoft/new...mpresses.ars/2
Think I'll give it a try - I have a 1 year subscrition with norton, but it takes up too much ram and cpu on my low powered laptop.
Problem is - If I don't like Microsoft security essentials I have no way to get back to norton.....
grrrr oh what to do.
Have you tried it yet? Any comments?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-March-2010, 20:45
Austin_KW
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

I had a problem with firefox. When downloading in firefox (and scaning the download) firefox stops responding.
Went back to avast free. but it did seem very light on resources and has got good reviews.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-March-2010, 21:17
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

I have Avast free, which freezes comp on update! Just need to know if it is as good as revues. Need more from people whom actually use it. Thanks for replies.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-March-2010, 22:06
Austin_KW
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

I have Avast free, which freezes comp on update! Just need to know if it is as good as revues. Need more from people whom actually use it. Thanks for replies.
Originally Posted by Twinkle View Post
Yes, Avast can freeze the computer on startup while it downloads and installs the update.
I change the avast settings/update(basic) to "Ask when update is available"
Makes it much more usable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-March-2010, 22:51
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Thanks for that Austin I will change settings. Still would like info from users of MS not than I'm a fan off there's, but people pay lots off monies for anti-virus and maybe its good.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-March-2010, 07:41
bouncingjohn's Avatar
bouncingjohn bouncingjohn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Memfis: can you not just disable, rather than uninstall, Norton while you're trying out MSE?
Then, if you don't like it; remove MSE and re-enable Norton.

NB: I don't use either of them so I may not know what I'm talking about.
__________________
Sensible children!! I have no power over them!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-March-2010, 13:05
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Memfis: can you not just disable, rather than uninstall, Norton while you're trying out MSE?
Then, if you don't like it; remove MSE and re-enable Norton.

NB: I don't use either of them so I may not know what I'm talking about.
Originally Posted by bouncingjohn View Post
Good point - kinda obvious really.
/me kicks himself.

I can disable the differnt parts of norton but the main software would still load, it would just sit there and do nothing but eat ram.

Think I'll uninstall avg on the other half's laptop and try it on there - see if she notices
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-March-2010, 15:25
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Avast! 5 is out now, if anyone is interested. I think v4.8 will be phased out soon.

http://www.avast.com/en-gb/lp-upgrade-4-5

Click on the first button on that page for Avast Home Edition 4.8. Which should be the version you have if updated regularly.

Next page, click on the No thanks, download new Free Antivirus button at the bottom of the page. Unless of course you paid for the Pro version etc.

I just ran the installer about 3 - 4 weeks ago, expecting an over install, but it uninstalled the old version first and used the original Registration number, from what I can tell.

On another PC with a fresh install of Windows, it self registered online with some user input, via the program, so it looks like there will be no need for registering online to recieve the code, like the old version.

The Avast! systray icon is now Red and Yellow, instead of Blue.

I must say, it caught my first ever Trojan installation attempt from a website I was viewing and the site was legitimate.

As for the MSE fing , I will stick with what I have now, Avast!, Outpost firewall, Malwarebytes and Firefox, with some anti-script/advert addons, all free of course
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-March-2010, 12:48
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Can't comment on the M$ security essentials yet, but I currently use Avast, and am just updating it to V5....Thanks JR !

Used to use AVG free and was happy with it until the update downloads became very 'flaky' and were just an irritation with the failure messages. Switched to Avast and was even happier, no update probs, light resource usage and effective.

Had Norton from 2001 to 2003 until I knew better ! It's still a resource hog and I wouldn't have it as a gift now.
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20-March-2010, 14:25
bouncingjohn's Avatar
bouncingjohn bouncingjohn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

I can disable the differnt parts of norton but the main software would still load, it would just sit there and do nothing but eat ram.
Originally Posted by Memfis View Post
Alternatively: download Autoruns and untick the box(es?) next to Norton to stop it loading at all. You can probably do the same in msconfig, but I prefer Autoruns.
__________________
Sensible children!! I have no power over them!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-March-2010, 15:17
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Thanks for the advice on update JR, I will stick with it until more is know about MSE
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22-March-2010, 23:45
Behemoth's Avatar
Behemoth Behemoth is offline
Trance Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

I'm running MSE, it does seem quite light weight but it's very fussy about what websites it lets you view. Some of the tech related websites I use it won't let me goto.

May have to put my kaspersky back on.
__________________
Is the juice worth the squeeze ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23-March-2010, 15:45
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?

Thats not good Behemoth, a thumbs down for MSE
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, failure, free, happy, home, laptop, line, online, registration, reviews, security, settings, software, trojan, virus, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft rushes out emergency Windows security fix gem PC Security 0 23-October-2008 21:53
The Microsoft Security Update Newsletter gem PC Security 32 11-August-2004 11:17
Customers Skeptical on Security, as Microsoft Preps Changes silver PC Security 0 02-April-2003 08:47
Microsoft Targets Governments Over Security silver General Software 0 15-January-2003 19:03
Virus : Microsoft Corporation Security Center [rdquest12@microsoft.com] Ian PC Security 1 26-April-2002 17:48


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!