#1  
Old 07-October-2003, 18:28
Mushy Peas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default arp -a

This is wot i get
C:\>arp -a

Interface: 81.107.xx.xxxx on Interface 0x2
Internet Address Physical Address Type
81.107.88.254 00-05-74-f7-64-54 dynamic

Interface: 192.168.0.1 on Interface 0x1000004
Internet Address Physical Address Type
192.168.0.3 00-80-ad-70-f9-00 dynamic
192.168.0.6 00-40-d0-30-bc-68 dynamic

I have peer to peer network with ICS. The above are the results from the ICS PC.

From wot i have read, 192.168.0.3 and 192.168.0.6 have been recently used.

What does it mean by "recently used" and is this normal???

Cheeers!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-October-2003, 18:52
Onslo's Avatar
Onslo Onslo is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Newbury, UK
Posts: 4,261
Default

Those addresses are just the addresses used (or transmaitted too) since the last reboot. Essentially it just means that the ICS PC has spoken to 192.168.0.3 and 192.168.0.6 and has the associated MAC addresses for those ip addresses in it's ARP table.

You need to understand a little more about ARP (Address Resolution Protocol) and how it works in order to understand it fully:

http://networking.earthweb.com/netsp...10953_965181_3

'Slo
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-October-2003, 18:57
Mushy Peas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cheers Onslo. I thought my PC was using those IPs, if it just transmitted to, then i feel at used now

This forum is the best. Theres always help, even for strange questions and bloody quick too. I dont know why there isnt more traffice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-October-2003, 19:33
Onslo's Avatar
Onslo Onslo is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Newbury, UK
Posts: 4,261
Default

Have you considered alternatives to ICS ?

Eg. Proxy, NAT etc ?

'Slo
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-October-2003, 22:22
Mushy Peas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i know NAT is, prob best if i get a router for that. Dont know what a proxy is.

I really should just get a router. Thing is all the other PCs just surf the net and ICS is just cheap and cheerful!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-October-2003, 22:36
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

ICS is windows version of NAT and it works ok generally, so no need to change really unless it's causing problems

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-October-2003, 23:33
Mushy Peas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yeah, as i said cheap and cheerful.
If i was to get a router, i would have to come here and ask which one is the best, and come here to ask loads of questions!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet, nat, network, router, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!