Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > PC Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14-February-2005, 23:50
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default why you should never use grc shields up.

I wouldn't believe a word of that program.

Nor do i believe in grc. Find a real program and do it from a friends house.

cc nor will tesco touch your router.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-February-2005, 01:28
The-Geek
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Not everything works when using router on Tesco Broadband

Hi,

Earlier you stated that ports 25 & 80 were open.

Could this be for remote management of the router (from the internet)?

You have also stated that you can access some web pages and not others.

Have you checked your browser security settings?

Have you run anti-virus / spyware scans to see if this could be the cause of the problem?

Can you send & receive email OK?

Can you ping exterior websites?

Regards


.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-February-2005, 18:54
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: Not everything works when using router on Tesco Broadband

I will reiterate :

DO NOT USE SHIELDS UP or GRC.com

grc.com is a good informative website, HOWEVER their Sheilds up program is the worst ever.

sorry I dont normally write in caps, but people miss the point!

There is no substitution for asking a friend to scan you using some REAL software like gfi languard.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-February-2005, 20:46
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: Not everything works when using router on Tesco Broadband

Use the norton online scanner or find another well establised one.

google will throw back results on the technology behind grc's testing and how it's flawed.

In addition to my usual concerns with grc, I just had a suddon thought.
Another problem with grc in the above config, it will not detect services running on unusual ports, eg remote router admin port is not normally 80, Ipcop's router software ssl runs on a different port.

Last edited by Memfis; 22-February-2005 at 20:51.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-February-2005, 20:51
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: Not everything works when using router on Tesco Broadband

I do respect dsl report's site so I will post their scanner as another alternative.

http://www.dslreports.com/scan

Will probably find the same as grc's but is unlikely to have the same number of false positives (telling you you have a port open when you dont).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-February-2005, 21:07
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: Not everything works when using router on Tesco Broadband

There is a particular site which deals with grc and it's hysteria. The site does have a great deal of informative articles on grc sheilds up and some of his other software. However as the site is so blatently against grc (even in the domain name) that I've decieded not to post it here. a google search with the right terms will find it.

I have found browsing google another impartial explanation, here

edit : I will split this thread when I get back.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-February-2005, 13:42
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

This thread was split from another by myself to clean up the previous thread and to keep it on topic. Thread may no makeperfect sense anymore, but should still be relevant.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-February-2005, 14:17
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

never had an issue with using grc,. always worked fine for me,. what issue do you have with their scanner ?

I've recommended peeps use their scanner and I use it myself now and again

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-February-2005, 14:27
canta
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

No problem with Shields Up or GRC here - although it's not my favoured choice, but I've worked with systems for many years and not heard unfavourable reports from those who've tried it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-February-2005, 16:59
StuC's Avatar
StuC StuC is offline
Life in the Farce Lane
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somerset
Posts: 925
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

GRC has always given results that seem to be true to what I'm runing.
Thanks for the dslreport one had not seen that.

On the subject of GFI you still need to tell it what ports to scan so are you running a list with 65000+ ports?
How long doe it take to do a "real" scan like that?

I think the online scan are good for basic checking the doors aren't wide open, there are other ways like running IPCop or personal firewalls to keep a more focused view on what traffic is actually running and on what ports
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-March-2005, 10:58
ttterk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: why you should ever use grc shields up.

Another option: http://scan.sygate.com/probe.html
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-February-2007, 21:43
CloudWolf
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

You should use GRC Shields Up. It is not only the BEST free port security scanner, but it NEVER gives me false positives. The guy who created Shields Up is an expert assembly programmer, and if your firewall cannot pass the true stealth test, that simply means you are not invisible to crackers. It will give you an analysis and an explanation of why you did not pass. You can scan common ports, individual ports, etc.
I've used Shields Up plenty of times and never have gotten a false positive. It's only shown me when I've had a crappy firewall. Zone Alarm and LinkSys's firewall pass when configured properly.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-May-2007, 16:59
old codger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

You should use GRC Shields Up. It is not only the BEST free port security scanner, but it NEVER gives me false positives.
Originally Posted by CloudWolf View Post
It gives me a false positive on http, (port 80), when I don't forward port 80 through my router, (which has remote management disabled on port 80). The router has NAT and my PC running unix is not running an http server and, in any event, has a firewall.
The guy who created Shields Up is an expert assembly programmer,
Originally Posted by CloudWolf View Post
Well, strictly speaking that's a totally different matter to him being a network security expert which is what he's effectively selling on the website.

In any event I've never been that impressed by people who say they're assembly language programmers since I converted some AL stuff into C for a unix word processor I wrote a few years ago. It was the code to move memory segments around and I wanted it quick and small because I only had about 12mb to handle 30 users(, (I'm going back a bit here ), so got someone else to do it as I'm not that comfortable in AL.

However, they lost their code so I rewrote it from scratch. After compiling it was both smaller AND faster... go figure!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-May-2007, 02:49
Austin_KW
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

I never had any problem with shields up, It is just a port scanner, not a lot that can go wrong.

The 'false' positives on port 80 will be your router rejecting the connection above the TCP layer (something higher up is denying access to your router's web interface). When the tester gets any response back (even a fail/nack) it will fail the stealth test. Does not mean you are necessarily vunerable, just not invisible.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-May-2007, 17:24
old codger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

Yeah, possibly... of course, it could just be that my creative labs router, (which is as old as they come), isn't very good and doesn't work properly.

I've used GRC and told others to use it as well because it's simple and looks pretty, (that's important for some people - makes 'em think you're not sending them to some hacker site), but there are better scanners around.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 26-February-2010, 14:19
JCW2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

I wouldn't believe a word of that program.

Nor do i believe in grc. Find a real program and do it from a friends house.

cc nor will tesco touch your router.
Originally Posted by Memfis View Post
I think it's more likely that you don't know what you're talking about. If something responds, then it's not a "false positive". If something isn't stealthed, then it's not a "false positive".

I administer several websites and Shields Up has always given me the correct results... we're still waiting for an explanation as to why you insist their system gave you problems.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-March-2010, 23:26
Mender's Avatar
Mender Mender is offline
I'll get some legs soon..
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 275
Default Re: why you should never use grc shields up.

I think it's more likely that you don't know what you're talking about. If something responds, then it's not a "false positive". If something isn't stealthed, then it's not a "false positive".

I administer several websites and Shields Up has always given me the correct results... we're still waiting for an explanation as to why you insist their system gave you problems.
Originally Posted by JCW2001 View Post
Have you seen the age of this thread? Runs from 2005-2007
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
assembly, broadband, connection, deals, email, forward, free, google, hacker, internet, line, lost, nat, network, online, port, router, security, settings, software, tesco, virus, web, zone

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More GRC funnies silver PC Security 4 27-February-2002 20:37
Mobile phone manufacturers are working on anti-cancer shields Louise News 0 11-June-2001 10:14
GRC site targeted with DDos attacks silver PC Security 0 16-May-2001 18:36


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!