#1  
Old 21-March-2010, 11:24
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Unhappy Avast 5

The Avast 5 free version has a avast shield control, which tell you your secured. Trouble is when its enabled I can't get on the net! Is it me or should I unable it Which I have had to do to get here.

All advice appreciated.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-March-2010, 12:50
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Hiya.

You only installed it yesterday ???, has this been unable to get on the net, happened since you installed it or just today.

Where are you seeing this setting. In the right click on the tray icon. ??

In the Avast! Shields Control settings of the tray icon, there are 5 entries, first one (All shields are on) is greyed out on mine, the following 4 are for disabling the shields, with time limits, on restart, or permanent disablement, etc.

If you disable them using the 4 optional settings, then you have no protection at all for that time period, if disabled permanently, you have no protection at all, so the program is basically useless.

Why are you messing with this setting. Have you altered any other settings within the program itself. ??

There are 7 shields enabled when secured, Web, Mail, Network, P2P, Instant Messaging, File System and Behaviour.

I dont know what firewall you have, but did you allow Avast! through.

I have used this for about 3 - 4 weeks now and I havent had any problems with it.
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-March-2010, 15:47
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

I let Avast through ZA and yes its since download can't get to web! Main shield and behavior shield is stopped until I restart. Just had to disable shield to get on net and it worked for now. What else would do it? I had same trouble with ZA forcefield and had to un install! I'll re-boot now and see what happens. Be back when I can thanks.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-March-2010, 16:45
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Hiya.

Are you running the Vista firewall aswell as ZoneAlarm. ??

You could try removing any Avast! entries from the ZoneAlarm firewall settings and then reboot the PC, the Firewall should find Avast! again and then, give it full access when asked.

Dont ask me where the allowed programs are, last time I used ZoneAlrm, you were a little girl, heha
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-March-2010, 17:39
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

Hi no ZA will not let you run both. After re-boot it did ask me to allow Avast update and yes I'm on the web. Just have to see for how long. Thanks for help.

Would you suggest me using MS firewall instead off ZA????
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-March-2010, 18:15
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Hiya.

So all the Shields now work correctly then.

It looks like ZoneAlarm is just as buggy and temperamental as it was when I used it, lol. It was probably ZA in the first place causing the problem, by not updating its database correctly.

NO! I would not recommend using MS's Firewall. First thing I do on a new PC is disable MS's firewall and use a real one. heha .
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-March-2010, 21:05
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

Seems alright at the moment thanks. Nice link for real firewall would be great and might, solve a lot off problems.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-March-2010, 22:06
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

Spoke to soon! MSN froze can't play APS! Just done another re-boot!!!
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-March-2010, 12:26
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Seems alright at the moment thanks. Nice link for real firewall would be great and might, solve a lot off problems.
Originally Posted by Twinkle View Post
I use these 2 Firewalls on different PC's, the PCTools one is pretty easy to configure, the Outpost one is a bit more technical.
I prefer the user interface of the PCTools one, but it wont install on Win2k.

If you decide to try any one of these, you must uninstall ZA first, but many have complained about ZA not fully uninstalling and causing no internet connection faults after uninstalling, etc.

Here are the sites and also a cleaner for ZA if needed.

http://www.pctools.com/firewall/ << PCTOOLS Firewall.

http://free.agnitum.com/ << Outpost Firewall.

http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...cpes_clean.exe << ZA Cleaner, use this after first uninstalling ZA and before installing new firewall.

Decide which Firewall you want to use and download it to your Desktop for ease of locating and also download the ZA cleaner file, prior to you uninstalling ZA, so you have the new firewall and cleaner ready beforhand.

Spoke to soon! MSN froze can't play APS! Just done another re-boot!!!
Originally Posted by Twinkle View Post
Could be anything causing this problem, just seems funny anything you do in the way of new software, ends up as a major fiasco. Maybe ZA and Avast! dont like each other, but I am just clutching at straws here.

What is APS, I dont understand what you maean.
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-March-2010, 13:27
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

Spoke to soon! MSN froze can't play APS! Just done another re-boot!!!
Originally Posted by Twinkle View Post

Its Avast shieid!
Thanks for links but not sure new firewall will help problem with Avast!
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22-March-2010, 14:48
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Hiya.

Well something is conflicting with it from what I can tell. If your not willing to go in a different direction and try another firewall, thats up to you. I apprehensively offered you 2 firewalls as per your request. EG. Nice link for real firewall would be great and might, solve a lot off problems. I didnt really want to add anymore problems to the situation, but offered them anyway.

Only thing I can suggest is....

Download the last version of Avast! 4.8 from the site below, Link is on the top right (Download this version 39.9MB).

Uninstall Avast 5, restart and install the old 4.8 version. That is if you havent had any problems with the older version.

http://www.filehippo.com/download_avast_antivirus/6635/
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22-March-2010, 15:07
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

Thanks Johnny. It may be ZA! I will try your FW as above and see if Avast works before going back to the old Avast.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22-March-2010, 15:23
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Dont blame me if it stuffs up, heha.
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22-March-2010, 15:29
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

well I've only just found cpes_clean.exe ! Your link sent me to contact ZA

Well fingers crossed for me. I hope to be back soon.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22-March-2010, 15:58
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

That link worked OK for me, directly clicking on it or, right click Save as. The file appeared both times for download.
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 22-March-2010, 16:27
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

When I run it nothing happened. All seems fine now for how long is anyones guess. Grateful for help.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22-March-2010, 16:50
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Hiya.

I didnt read the manual for that file, I assumed it was a ZA cleaner, apparently its an uninstaller. Thats why it didnt do anything.

So what did you do then, install another Firewall or chicken out ?
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22-March-2010, 17:03
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Avast 5

Me no chicken, in more ways than one. I installed Link 2 Outpost firewall. TY
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22-March-2010, 17:51
JohnnyReb51's Avatar
JohnnyReb51 JohnnyReb51 is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,484
Default Re: Avast 5

Hiya.

You will keep us up to date no doubt, if there's any problems then.
__________________
JR51.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 22-March-2010, 21:08
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,658
Thumbs up Re: Avast 5

Hiya.

You will keep us up to date no doubt, if there's any problems then.
Originally Posted by JohnnyReb51 View Post
Sure will love to keep you all busy.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connection, free, internet, mail, network, settings, software, web, zonealarm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
defrag? Twinkle General Software 62 19-October-2009 09:36
Avast chest Win 32 Trojan-gen(other) Pisces PC Security 32 24-August-2008 15:44
Help needed, msconfig and regedit Doggy Doo Spyware Removal 5 30-October-2005 21:47
Avast! Free Anti virus crankykick PC Security 12 08-February-2005 14:53
Avast, me hearties! crankykick General Chatty Stuff 7 25-September-2004 23:42


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!