#1  
Old 20-February-2004, 17:03
Danmancs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question spyware cleaners

Afternoon,

Can anyone recomend some good spyware/trojan cleaners? I have ad-aware, but I just have a feeling that there is something lurking in my PC. I keep getting random pop up ads when I open internet explorer to my home page... which is news.bbc.co.uk... so I presume they are not allowing people to have ads for penis enlagement etc on their website!! Also I keep getting slow downs where the mouse won't move very fast.

As an aside; the built in firewall in XP vs. Zonealarm? Any thoughts? I've gone back to the built in one right now because I cant get my mailserver to work through ZA. I SHOULD be getting my ADSL router/firewall tomorrow, so that'll solve that problem, but just out of interest....?

Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-February-2004, 18:30
P.C.Dunderhead
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Read Onslo's guide to IMHO best free personal firewall from Sygate:http://www.the-scream.co.uk/forums/t7985.html?

Spybot Search And Destroy in my experience is the greatest pest remover:http://www.safer-networking.org

Your P.C. sounds so compromised,I'm not certain it will permit the download,however.Post back if you encounter difficulties.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-February-2004, 18:33
P.C.Dunderhead
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sygate has improved vastly since then!

http://www.the-scream.co.uk/forums/t12102.html?

Link to current discussion about Firewalls.Contains link to Sygates download site.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-February-2004, 22:02
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The best anti spyware tool on the market imho is Webroot SpySweeper. Unfortunately it's not free but a thirty day trial edition is available.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-February-2004, 00:06
DaveL's Avatar
DaveL DaveL is offline
Yorkshire Screamager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 681
Default

You can check online at PestScan or at Webroot Software.
__________________
Dave
Say no to 0870!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-February-2004, 00:58
bloodhound
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i use norton internet security? how does it compare to zone alarm or sygate? do u think i should install something else?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-February-2004, 01:50
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There are three Norton/Symantec Products that I actually like and use readily. They are Norton Personal Firewall, Symantec WinFax Pro and Norton Ghost.
I haven't yet found fault with a properly set up installation of NPF and believe me, I've tried.

The AV software I use is Kaspersky Labs Anti Viral Toolkit Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-February-2004, 05:37
P.C.Dunderhead
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@BloodHound,I dunno,old son.All software has "spyware" embedded in it to a certain degree.The "echelons" (whoever the blinking heck they might be) can track you via GUI hardware serial codes and so on....

If you have an O.S.,I'm amazed the F.B.I. haven't kicked your door in.Somebody somewhere has your number...you can bet on it.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-February-2004, 07:59
bloodhound
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by P.C.Dunderhead
@BloodHound,I dunno,old son.All software has "spyware" embedded in it to a certain degree.The "echelons" (whoever the blinking heck they might be) can track you via GUI hardware serial codes and so on....

If you have an O.S.,I'm amazed the F.B.I. haven't kicked your door in.Somebody somewhere has your number...you can bet on it.....
BUT my os is perfectly LEGALLLL. it came with me laptop.. if they track me down they will have to track 100 million illegal users. otherwise that would be discrimition cos i am gay(not just joking) that mean i am not gay.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-February-2004, 10:14
P.C.Dunderhead
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@BH..I meant,whatever software you run on your O.S. has reported back to its creators,certainly.I am assuming you aren't running a cracked Norton?

Do a netstat and see who your computer is connected to.What would be the point of having a Sygate Firewall that'll transmit to verio.inc..?Presumably,they're duty bound to turn you in?
It'd be so easy for the Authorities to bust soft targets like penniless Students to fill their quotas rather than Gangsters...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25-February-2004, 20:45
bloodhound
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ooops i did it again hehe. yes its cracked. everything in me computer is cracked except my OS
how do i do a netsat?
i went to runa dtype ed netstat. i god a black windows and they colsoe down almos imeedicalty
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25-February-2004, 21:14
Zer02004
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Open a DOS box first.
Now type netstat -a
Typing netstat /? will give you all the switch options for netstat and a brief explanation of each.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25-February-2004, 21:49
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

some info in <thread>:Advice please - netstat

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25-February-2004, 22:56
Danmancs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I just did a netstat, and it looks like I have a shed load of ports open. I am behind a hardware router/firewall though, so should I worry too much? I've done a port scan on www.dslreports.com and it says everything is ok....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adsl, bbc, compare, computer, free, home, internet, laptop, line, online, remover, router, security, slow, software, trojan, windows, zone, zonealarm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!