Go Back   The Scream! > COMMUNITY FORUMS > General Chatty Stuff

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #241  
Old 03-April-2002, 07:28
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Welcome to the team Glenn !

Happy crunching !

Sil

@ Kev1st - 1000 PCs - sheesh! perhaps get them to put it on a few boxes so they get confidence it is ok to run (remember to change the options in the device list so it only runs the cancer thingy and put them all on one device is probably safer)
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 03-April-2002, 08:14
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default

Without knowing what OS they are using, is there anyway to get it to run at startup not logon, I.e. they all log off at night so it would be useful if it could carry on running even when logged off?

They may just let it run between 6pm and 9am when no one is using the PC's.

I know you can set the time it runs under device profile but that is no use if they log off.

Hope that makes sense.

-Kev
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 03-April-2002, 09:28
fridgebuzz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah welcome to our newest crunchers

Steed get AVENGING
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 03-April-2002, 10:00
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Kev,

If it's win2k / NT / (XP?) then you can run it as a service, I think this would make it run all the time (whether logged in or out) ?

see UD as a service

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 03-April-2002, 10:54
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default

Cheers.

I only see the manager about once a month, then He'll have to go to his boss etc etc.

On a similar theme is there anywhere I can but 486's etc dirt cheap but not at an online auction. (I've been bitten twice)

Anyone one know a place in berkshire?

How cheap could I build a PC for doing UD WU's on?

Don't need monitor, graphics card (have one), modem but do require mother b., small HDD, network card, CPU & Case.

Anything I missed?

P.s. there are rumours that UD is finishing soon, so is it worth it?
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 08-April-2002, 13:06
NA-RYAN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just re-joined.

Upgraded the PC to an Athlon XP 2000+ and have reinstalled UD again.
Was running seti for a while and it was flying through those units

Shame I can't keep the PC at the agressive (bios) settings as that crunched through the seti units 4 hours per unit compared to 6 on the default settings.
I guess I would need to get good quality 333ddr instead of this generic 266ddr that I have.
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 09-April-2002, 07:34
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Down South
Posts: 3,266
Default

WB

Looks like we`ll be hitting 10 years tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 09-April-2002, 09:48
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Over the past day or so we have 3 new team members !

Welcome to jonathan_796541, tristen, Na-Ryan-2002

As Ian says - we should hit the big one zero tomorrow !

If you have not changed or checked your UD device settings then it's worth a quick look at you device list (by default your UD runs commercial 'web testing' as well as the cancer project). Goto the login page at

https://members.ud.com/services/devices/devices.htm

and log in

once logged in there's a table in the middle - under the heading 'Selected Profile' click each profile in turn (most people will only have one called 'default' just click that).

In the device screen where it says 'Hard drive space to allocate?' - set that to 100MB - the UD agent doesn't require much disk at all !

near the bottom of the screen - where it shows

Current Distributed Computing Projects
Primary Projects:

Intel-United Devices Cancer Research Project

Secondary Projects:
(Optional)

Web Performance Testing
unselect the 'Web Performance Testing' - now press 'SAVE' - if you have more devices listed then do those also. that way you are only giving time to the cancer project

Welcome again to our newest team members, happy crunching !

Sil

PS, if you are interested in watching the stats - there's 2 versions

TS! UD Team Page - in that page is a link to click on the Team Members Detail and Statistics

also there's a copy of the pages which show your agent history

Sil's TS! UD Stat pages - link at the top takes you to the member list - from there select the username you want to view
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 09-April-2002, 10:45
NA-RYAN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Done that as soon as I installed it

Now i realy need to find a happy medium between Aggressive settings and default settings on this system as the Aggressive ones make a big difference in UD as well.

All I know is Aggressive sets the memory timings to there fastest and that makes anything that demands alot of cpu power run a lot better.
So number crunching programs like Seti or UD get one heck of a boost.

Only problem is it makes games unstable after a while
So either I have to find a happy medium or replace all 512mb of pc2100 DDR with PC2600 DDR that's made by crucial or kingston.
But I think that will cost a bit :|

Just spent 800 updating this PC.
Heh 19" monitors ain't that cheap either, lol

I will get it to work
You lot know how bloomin' stubbern I can be (Tee Hee)
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 10-April-2002, 08:51
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default 10 Years of CPU Time

Congratulations to Everyone at Team TS!


10 Years of CPU Time

Last edited by Memfis; 10-April-2002 at 08:57.
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 10-April-2002, 08:57
fridgebuzz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

To quote a BLUR song.......


WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 10-April-2002, 13:05
Tebbie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

woo! "high fives" all around

tebs
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 10-April-2002, 21:26
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

we rock
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 10-April-2002, 23:23
NA-RYAN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cool

Sure is a strange little program.
Here was me tweaking about with my PC trying to see if it could make it do the thing any faster (was doing the units about ever 4 to 5 hours) then suddenly it starts doing 1 every 1.5 hours and now that it's doing these C-ABL Tyrosine Kinase units (are they new?) it's doing 1 every 50min to 1 hour.
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 11-April-2002, 07:50
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

anyone know where I can get ud monitor - or something which works as well (or better?) - looking round the web the original ( http://www.udmon.org.ru ?) pages seem to have disappeared

thanks

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 11-April-2002, 18:33
NA-RYAN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.udmon.org.ru loads ok for me??
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 12-April-2002, 08:40
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default

I can Email it to you tonight. It's only a small prog.
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 12-April-2002, 08:42
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

thanks guys - it's bizarre it won't load for me at all (have checked everything I can think of and it did used to load ) no worries tho tebs can load it - will get it sent that way

Thanks

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 12-April-2002, 14:01
Tebbie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

oops,, was unable to get to the comp to do that last night,, will do today tho

tebs
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 15-April-2002, 13:48
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default

Unfortunately the 1,000 or so PC bid has failed
Sorry folks. But it would have bumped our stats up a bit and would haved done wonders for the cause

Last edited by Memfis; 15-April-2002 at 13:50.
Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 16-April-2002, 23:47
fridgebuzz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Any chemists out there......maybe you can make more out of this than I did,,,,,,,it looks cool though......

http://polarbear.pcl.ox.ac.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 18-April-2002, 22:01
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Welcome to our two newest team members PaulKG and mrJazz

Welcome aboard and happy crunching !

If you have any questions please ask, someone is bound to be able to help

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 19-April-2002, 16:36
Tebbie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

WOOO! Sil has made it over the 100,000 mark WTG LK!!,, you and Ian should start the '100,000' club


tebs

p.s just to add, tris is rocking along with over 5000 points already
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 19-April-2002, 16:44
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Down South
Posts: 3,266
Default

I`m nearly in the 200,000 club

and sneaking up on 2 years cpu time too
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 19-April-2002, 16:49
Tebbie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ahh,,
I`m nearly in the 200,000 club
,, is that like being almost pregnant? ,, Ok, Ok,, will have a drink on you when you open the "200,000" club

tebs
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 19-April-2002, 19:20
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Down South
Posts: 3,266
Default

will have a drink on you when you open the "200,000" club
Mines a root beer
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 19-April-2002, 19:25
fridgebuzz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

CONGRATS sil

Not long to go for your YEAR too

Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 19-April-2002, 19:53
Tebbie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was going to ask for an Archers Peach as my celebratory drink ,, they don't sell that here in the States ,, but I can have all the root beer i want ,, proper stuff too,, not the namby pamby stuff from Sainsbury


tebs
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 21-April-2002, 20:52
DavidMad's Avatar
DavidMad DavidMad is offline
Loathsome Cad
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 309
Default

2 Years CPU - well done Ian!!


DavidMad

p.s. Extrapolating from 28 March to 20 April, TS! overtake N4N on 7 May
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 21-April-2002, 21:09
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Down South
Posts: 3,266
Default

Cool

Although it would have been nice to get both 2 yrs and 200,000 points on the same day

Total CPU Time (y:d:h:m:s) (Rank) 2:003:02:56:12 (# 6,082)
Points Generated (Rank) 199,659 (#6,084)

Should hit 200K by end of today (with any luck)

/me cracks open a root beer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adsl, bad, company, computer, connection, delay, email, feature, files, forward, home, intel, internet, line, lost, make, modem, music, oap, opinion, phone, screen, settings, slow, software, speeding, speeds, web, windows, zero, zone

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!