Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #151  
Old 24-August-2004, 08:52
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Originally posted by jackassuk56
will this work with an usb scientific atlantica webstar modem with drivers for windows or will i need to get linux ones
you will need linux drivers, most (a lot I think) modems (or more correctly the modem chipsets) have linux drivers,. a google search may reveal or perhaps look through the user mail archive on ipcop (or perhaps post a message to the list if you can't find the answer anywhere).

good luck and let us know how you get on

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 25-August-2004, 10:06
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default

IPCop 1.4 is now a Release Candidate 1
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 25-August-2004, 11:30
jackassuk56
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i will try this out if i can find linux drivers for my modem then i will get an old pc and make it the router
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 25-August-2004, 11:36
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default

cant see any support for linux with this modem well on there site anyway

What model number is it?

http://www.scientificatlanta.com/pro...edownloads.htm
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......

Last edited by Scoobs; 25-August-2004 at 11:43.
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 25-August-2004, 20:20
jackassuk56
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi its a scientific atlantis webstar dpx100 cable modem


i dont think there will be and if there isnt are there any proxy programs that can be run in windows
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 25-August-2004, 22:06
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Originally posted by jackassuk56
hi its a scientific atlantis webstar dpx100 cable modem

i dont think there will be and if there isnt are there any proxy programs that can be run in windows
does it have ethernet out as well as USB? If that's the case then just use ethernet and no drivers are required,.

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 26-August-2004, 12:39
jackassuk56
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes it does but it didnt work

well the pc i might use doesnt like the ethernet as i have had 5 modems on it and the only one to work was this one with usb not ethernet

anyway do you know of a good proxy program that will work in windows 2000 pro
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 01-October-2004, 17:07
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default

At Long last IPCop 1.4.0 Final Release! is out

and its got a nice new website as well

http://www.ipcop.org/

The IPCop team is proud to announce the Final 1.4.0 Release today !

IPCop Linux is a complete Linux distribution whose sole purpose is to
protect the networks on which it is installed. It is extremely easy for
anyone to install and configure. Frequently, the IPCop firewall can be
installed within 10 to 15 minutes.
Changes:
Build system uses LFS (Linux from Scratch)
New GUI
New supported hardware includes:
SCSI hardware
PCMCIA hardware
Speedtouch PPPoE
AVM Fritz!DSL
AVM Fritz!Card PCI 2.0
Bewan st PCI and USB
Conexant usb and PCI driver
Eagle-usb driver
Friztdsl
Speedtouch usb PPPoE / bridged / routed IP (Rev 4.00 supported)
Zyxel 630-11 driver
3Com 3cp4218 driver
New features include:
Support ACPI
Uni and Multi-processor systems
SSP Stack Smashing Protection and libsafe
Intrusion detection SNORT (for all interfaces)
Traffic Shaping
NTP Server on GREEN
System graphs for CPU, Memory and disk
BLUE interface for connecting Wireless AP's
X.509 VPN support (including Roadwarrior support)
Enhancements to DHCP and Hosts editing
Enhancements to log viewing
Supported languages include:
Cesky
Chinese
Latin American Spanish
Magyar
Polski
Portugu?s
Portugu?s-Brasil
Romanian
Suomi
Vietnamese
Russkij
New target platforms
Digital Alpha (preliminary) - yes, IPCop runs on Alpha systems as well as Intel ix86 machines. ISO available on request to sense the need for this.
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 12-October-2004, 21:21
Dosgod
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Very nice, thank you for the info, I am one paranoid sob on security & this will be very usefull to me
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 13-October-2004, 20:48
StuC's Avatar
StuC StuC is offline
Life in the Farce Lane
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somerset
Posts: 925
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Long shot here,
Just installed 1.4 final (dialup only) and can't connect to plus net.
I can dial up to UKonline OK
I copied the details from smoothwall (that is dialed up to send this) and am pretty sure everything is the same as a previous IP-Cop1.3 which works fine.
I've never had a problem with IP-Cop or smoothwall (from 0.95) but this one has got me stumped.
The modem is fine and I did try another.
It must be something to do with how Plus authenticates

Any ideas?

I have done a bit of a search but found nothing.

cheers

Stu
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 18-October-2004, 18:25
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

never used ipcop with dialup,. but on 1.3 there was some options in the dialup / modem settings to allow you to choose different dialup scripts - 1.4 might / should have something similar ?

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 19-October-2004, 21:19
StuC's Avatar
StuC StuC is offline
Life in the Farce Lane
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somerset
Posts: 925
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Thanks for that Silver I've tried most of the settings but just not the script from the plus net support site, I'll try it when i work out how to, and if it is axactly what I need.

Strange thing is I have never had a problem before and version 1.3 is just fine (as is Smoothwall)

Guess I'm just being lazy, maybe I'll put 1.4 on the one at work on broadband and see if it is worth getting working at home.


Stu
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 19-October-2004, 22:37
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Am using 1.4 now it's like 1.3 - few more options,

only worthwhile ones from my point of view are

snort (IDS) can be turned on for chosen interfaces only (like just monitor green)
reconnect is available even if your connection is ethernet (have NTL connection)

apart from that and getting used to the different layout there's not much different (well support for 1.3 will stop at some point so worth upgrading from that point of view)

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 04-November-2004, 06:06
thenetquest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Wow this sound really interesting. I currently use a linksys router but was thinking of going to a wireless router or a combination of both, but this sounds like it would be better and more secure. One thing i was wonderign though, is it really necessary to get a swith to make this work. Cant you just use multiple nics in the computer that you turn into the router?
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 05-November-2004, 20:44
LeJimster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Hi all,

I'm looking to replace my Netgear DG814 router.

A few questions really
1) Is there some kind of Ack prioritization and QoS for things like Downloads (p2p)?

2) Is there any UPnP support? I don't really need it myself, but it can come in handy esepcially for my mom who uses MSN occasionally.

3) Is there any wireless support? I mean, if I buy a 802.11g+ card and have it in addition to a 10/100 NIC would I be able to do that?
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 17-November-2004, 21:28
ewtie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Hi Silver (or ?).

New I'd back. :-).

So icop pc built and installed, cannot connect other than to 192.168.1.1.81 when I am directed to do. 145 which then requires a password with no hint of where to obtain. I assume I am connected to the above. Will proceed to Icop for information but comments will be welcome.

Only one other PC. running Win98 with Win2000 which I have yet to use.(Dual boot)

Moden on 98PC is shown in network neighbourhood ?????

Tahnks.
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 17-November-2004, 21:43
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

The password for logging into ipcop was the ones you put in when you installed it.

https://192.168.1.1:445

user admin
pass what you picked
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 20-November-2004, 20:54
LeJimster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

If you wanto ssh into IPCop, make sure its turned on in the web settings.. Then uses port 222, username is "root", password is whatever you set when installing IPCop.

Version 1.4.1 is out now btw.

Thankyou guys for telling me about IPCop, got mine running up brilliantly atm, only trouble I'm having is with latency for games. Its noticeably higher than with my netgear router. I think its down to the cheap Bewan ADSL PCI card I'm using, I'm going to replace it as soon as I can though.

ta again

LJ
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 22-November-2004, 15:43
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

If you want to read the change log for ipcop 1.4.0 1.4.1 etc it can be found by clicking the following link new stuff is near the top

IP Cop Changelog
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 26-November-2004, 18:23
ewtie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

All seems to have gone according to plan - however not being with Linux (although I have played with it and just can't raise the energy to learn it) I am now faced with:-

hostname.localdomainname.

What next???????

Many tas
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 26-November-2004, 18:27
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

it doesn't really matter what you put in there,. hostname.localdomainname is fine - if I understood the question right ?

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 27-November-2004, 13:55
ewtie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

I will not be beaten by a computer.
I will not be beaten by a computer.
I will not be beaten by a computer.

Ok guys, clearer questions I hope.

Answers please as to a five year old. (I'm not ashamed to admit I'm dim. Mensa IQ 146 - they got that wrong I'm thinking.)

My Ipcop computer fires up and wants me to login, it asks for login name for 'ipcop' and password. Then for 'localdomain' and password.

I have exhausted all possible variations for this to no avail. what should I enter here and why do I need to log in anyway?

Main computer - go to 192.168.1.1., something about a certificate which appears not to be a problem but then asks for user name and password to log in to 'restricted'. What user name and what password.

Assuming I get it running can I still use 'favourites' now with Firefox 'bookmarks.

Thanks .
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 27-November-2004, 14:35
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Hi ewtie

Forget login into the ipcop box itself.

Use your browser

Go to https://192.168.1.1:445

That is the main admin area for ip cop (you dont need a keyboard or monitor on the ipcop once its installed)

The user name is admin and the password is the one you picked during the setup when it asks for 'root' and 'setup' passwords during the install.

You can then setup the modem and password etc for you isp.

If you are using a usb speedtouch 330 modem you will need to upload some files depending on your modem version

KQD6_3.xxx when Rev<4 or ZZZL_3.xxx for Rev=4

then you can setup your isp account and once done click connect and it should say connected and thats it.

Make sure you set the idle time to 0 else it will disconect when not in use
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 27-November-2004, 15:02
ewtie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wink Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Thanks - probably be back :-)
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 27-November-2004, 17:25
ewtie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

I'm back!

Thank Scoobs, I am sure that would have worked but couldn't remember the root password.

Re-installed ipcop and used new password, now when I try to log in it seems I need a new certificate number as I am receving one with a previous number.

Ewtie was last seen heading for the funny farm muttering 'I will not be beaten by a conputer'

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 27-November-2004, 17:57
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

the certificate I think you refer to is the ssl self signed one that ipcop uses to encrypt the data between your PC and the ipcop,. so when it comes up saying 'do you accept this...' jus press yes

the other way to talk to ipcop via non-encypted means (thus avoiding the certificate) is http://192.168.1.1:81

stick with it ewtie, if you've got this far you are v close to having a working home-made router

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 03-December-2004, 14:06
puggsley1980
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Does IPCop support the use of Wireless NIC's?

I really want to try this out but am dependant on wireless from the ground floor (DSL connection) to my makeshift office!

Puggs,
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 03-December-2004, 14:11
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

NO

In a simple answer

It has a blue zone for wirless but you have to put a normal nic in and this would go to a wirless AP.
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 03-December-2004, 14:57
puggsley1980
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

Bugger!

Might give it a go anyway, my DSL router keep doing the "mystery reboot!" thing caused by having too many P2P ports open. I'm having some Central Heating installed so I might take the opportunity to run an Ethernet cable upstairs!
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 26-December-2004, 18:18
tujags
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Re: Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed

I have read through all the posts & gathered some useful info but... I have installed ipcop 1.4 on an old Compaq celeron PC. Installation went fine as far as I can tell, I will be using a speedtouch 330 ADSL modem. Network comprises a P4, a P3, the celeron with ipcop & a laptop connected through a Netgear EN104 hub. Pc's are running XP Pro. I used the quick start setting up procedure from IP Cop home page also have installation manual. Problem I have is no communication with ipcop can't ping it so can't setup a connection.
I was uncertain about the network config setup after disabling ISDN did Done & enter. bypassed red setup
Should I have enabled DHCP?
I assume after reboot remaining setup is done from browser which won't connect..........!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adsl, aol, bt, cable, compare, connection, dead, deals, dns, file sharing, firmware, free, hacking, isp, make, modem, nat, network, router, share, sharing, slow, software, sound, speed, speedtouch, thomson, virgin, voyager, web, windows, wireless, zyxel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!