Go Back   The Scream! > ISP FORUMS > Broadband Internet Access

Old 03-November-2011, 15:17
NeXus_Drummer

Default Slow downloading - High speeds?

I know my speeds aren't of overly high rates but they've always been enough to let me load videos/download/stream. Only after having a new SKY HD box installed has loading and streaming become a problem. There are filters on everything and I've done tests on http://speedtester.bt.com/ and speedtest.net and pingtest.net My results were:

speedtester.bt: Download speedachieved during the test was - 4015 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2000-7150 Kbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 7114 Kbps

speedtest.net: Ping: 44ms
Download 4.20mbps
Upload: 0.31mbps

pingtest.net: Packet loss: 0%
Ping: 38ms
Jitter: 4ms
Line quality/Grade: A

I'm no real expert or anything when it comes to this sort of thing but surely I'm right in thnking that's more than acceptable to have? I try using SKY Player on my Xbox and that has always been fine for streaming live and on demand shows. Now suddenly it decides to buffer every few seconds/minutes making things unwatchable. Even when my speeds are at (on average) 6.57mbps it still buffers constantly and this is even after peak internet times at gone 1am.
I can't work out what the problem may be only that it's this new box but that can't be unplugged due to people watching tv on it. Am I just stuck with waiting for things to load around 2-3 minutes worth of video in around 20-30 minutes, or is there something I could do to sort this out? The things connected to the line are my router, telephone and these two SKY boxes. Any help will be appreciated.
Old 05-November-2011, 21:21
Screamager

Default Re: Slow downloading - High speeds?