Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19-February-2012, 22:33
jin799 jin799 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Default Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

Hi all,

I have been given a desktop which I wanted to set up for my kids.
It has a problem that it goes black on the monitor after about 2/5 mins into start up.I tried it on different monitors but with the same result.It was on windows xp.I tried Ubuntu on it with a live cd and it did load but then hung until I switched it off.
I tried it again but this time I started Ubuntu live cd in safe graphics mode and it seemed to stay for over 30 mins.

I can't get the details of the desktop as it will go into blackout mode within 5 mins and I have no idea of getting the details for it using the Ubuntu Live cd.
If I could get the details maybe a report to say if the graphics was ok or not.
I do not have another PCI-E graphics card that I can try so I need a detailed report of whats working and whats not.

Therefore I was wondering if I installed Ubuntu then would it work or would I have the same problem of it shutting down after 5 mins ?

Please advise.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-February-2012, 13:31
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

I would just try to fix the problem, does point to a flakey graphics card, should be able to get a cheap pci-e card for ~20 quid or much cheaper on ebay

if the live cd works on safe graphics mode then providing you run ubuntu installed in a similar way it should be fine,. though really try swapping out the graphics card

other random thoughts, check card is seated properly (take it out and push it back in) and also if it's over heating perhaps, is there a fan on it that's stopped working perhaps?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-February-2012, 15:44
jin799 jin799 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

cheers for reply mate...

Have tried taking out the card and putting it back in again several times but same thing happens.
There is no fan on it or even near it.
Only desktop fan which seems to be working fine.

Ya live cd works on safe graphics mode so what do u mean install in similar way ?

Any particular card u could suggest on ebay mate ?(that would be my problem solved right ? )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-February-2012, 21:15
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

well - until it's tried can't say swapping the graphics card is 100% sure the problem, it does sound like it's very likely the cause

any old pci-e card should be fine, the cheapest one I could find (quickly looking on ebuyer) is 23.50inc vat - ebay should be able to find something cheaper

if you could borrow a card from someone just to try out that would make sure it's the graphics card

ubuntu install, well there should (really must) be a way to install or run ubuntu such that it works in safe graphics mode, exactly how that's done I am less sure,. it might be tricky as well as it will likely detect the graphics card on install and expect you to be using it to full capability

probably install ubuntu as normal but once installed boot it to the command line and edit the graphics startup section - umm again perhaps easier said that done!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-February-2012, 21:31
Scoobs's Avatar
Scoobs Scoobs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 4,909
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

Does xp run on in safe mode ? could just be bad drivers for windows
__________________
SG5 Short Url
.......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-February-2012, 21:48
jin799 jin799 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

Does xp run on in safe mode ? could just be bad drivers for windows
Originally Posted by Scoobs View Post
nope it doesnot mate.....


cheers silver.... finding the card to borrow is going to be the hard part... see I do not wanna invest on it if ts not the problem.
I got old cards but none fit onto this motherboard !!old ones are just PCI I think !!

Last edited by jin799; 20-February-2012 at 21:53. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-February-2012, 22:04
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

ah,. scoobs raises a good point,. if it's gcard and it works in safe mode in ubuntu you should reasonably expect it to run in safe mode on xp..

both safe modes (ubuntu/windows) should access the gcard in the same way / low resolution mode - so you would expect them both to work or both to not work..

humm.. but still it's possibly the gcard,. best thing it to swap it out and be 100% sure
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-February-2012, 17:27
jin799 jin799 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

cheers ppl will have to check it out once I get back home from work... ( currently in different county for work )
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-February-2012, 19:57
Behemoth's Avatar
Behemoth Behemoth is offline
Trance Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

It could be corrupt install of Windows, if you can't get into safemode that usually points to a fairly well worn out Windows install.

If it's still got it's recovery partition, pressing F11 when you turn the thing on should start the recovery partition and re-install the OS that way. If goes that far and it gives you the option do a destructive recovery and it should then load the system in as it was first new out the box.
__________________
Is the juice worth the squeeze ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-March-2012, 13:59
jin799 jin799 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

UPDATE

I tried again but it just goes blank after a while and the monitor goes into power saving mode so have no idea now what it could be.....

I did manage to get windows working after a few restarts but within 10/15 mins it went off.

Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21-March-2012, 16:33
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

Have you tried Googling this problem ?

I had a quick look and found that other people have had similar problems, and some mentioned that revised graphics drivers were available.
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21-March-2012, 16:39
jin799 jin799 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

Have you tried Googling this problem ?

I had a quick look and found that other people have had similar problems, and some mentioned that revised graphics drivers were available.
Originally Posted by centaur View Post
cheers for the reply ....
What exactly did you google cos I'm getting my own thread on the google.
Mainly where will I get the "revised graphics drivers" to try ?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-March-2012, 18:11
Mender's Avatar
Mender Mender is offline
I'll get some legs soon..
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 275
Default Re: Problem with Desktop Packard Bell.

It could be the CPU overheating. When you restart, as soon as anything appears on the screen, tap the Del key a few times and you should get into the BIOS screen. Somewhere in the BIOS, you may find a section that tells you the CPU temperature. What does that say? Leave the computer on the BIOS screen for a while and see if it has the same problem.

If it does, check that the fan on the CPU is spinning. Also check that the CPU heatsink isn't blocked with dust and fluff. If all that looks okay, it might pay to remove the heatsink, clean it thoroughly on the bottom, clean the top of the CPU, and replace the heatsink using a very thin even layer of heatsink compound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bad, cards, computer, google, googling, home, key, line, make, screen, sound, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes causes Packard Bells to throw a wobbler Olozzj News 0 31-December-2007 22:33
packard bell r1005 - FIREWIRE PROBLEM droptear1 Hardware 1 28-May-2007 20:29
Tesco Broadband and Packard Bell...help! gumball28 Tesco ADSL Broadband 7 30-June-2006 19:24
usb tv (packard bell PB-TV200) markcelts Hardware 2 09-April-2005 09:00
Speedtouch Install Problem -Packard Bell Rhod Tesco ADSL Broadband 1 01-April-2005 16:38


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!