#1  
Old 01-July-2013, 13:52
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Question IE Why?

Does anyone know the secret of installing IE9 Tried all that MS say safe mode etc. To no avail!

TIA
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-July-2013, 12:05
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: IE Why?

Which version of Windows OS are you using ?

I don't think XP supports IE9 if it's that one.
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-July-2013, 12:09
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: IE Why?

Windows Vista,

TY
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-July-2013, 10:20
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: IE Why?

Although IE9 should work ok with Vista, it appears that quite a few people have had problems with it's lack of response.

I no longer use IE as a main browser for the same reasons, it's clunky and slow compared to either Firefox or Chrome, and I use the latter currently, after much scepticism finding it quicker than any of those mentioned.

If you're really determined to carry on with IE9, have you tried downloading it via Windows updates ?

If so, can you explain what problem/s you're having ?
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-July-2013, 11:59
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: IE Why?

Thanks Centuar,
I have tried it in windows update many times, to no avail. I like IE as I'm used to it and the setting. I have tried Firefox and crome, which is fast. Trouble is I picked up lots of spam with them. I have Safari, a.t.m. just to play my game, which I.E can't do due to script errors!
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-July-2013, 10:54
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: IE Why?

Thanks Centuar,
I have tried it in windows update many times, to no avail. I like IE as I'm used to it and the setting. I have tried Firefox and crome, which is fast. Trouble is I picked up lots of spam with them. I have Safari, a.t.m. just to play my game, which I.E can't do due to script errors!
Originally Posted by Twinkle View Post

If it's any compensation, I'm currently using Windows 7 which comes with IE9 which has the same problems with script errors as you have. So I updated it to IE10 and it's still the same, irritating script errors and page freezes as a result.

This is why I don't use it anymore, it's just too flippin' flaky !
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-July-2013, 11:25
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: IE Why?

Thanks for that info Centuar,

Guess I will have to float between the two browser.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-July-2013, 18:49
Behemoth's Avatar
Behemoth Behemoth is offline
Trance Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 2,722
Default Re: IE Why?

Donna's laptop had issues with IE10 and one of her games in facebook, I found there was a way to remove it and I was able to put her back on IE9.

In control panel in programs and features, click installed updates.

Go gown the list a little and there is the option to remove IE10 and revert back to IE9.

Neither my Laptop or my two desktops had any issues with IE9 or IE10.

If you just want a standalone download for 9 then here it is - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/i...wide-languages
__________________
Is the juice worth the squeeze ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-July-2013, 20:01
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Angry Re: IE Why?

Donna's laptop had issues with IE10 and one of her games in facebook, I found there was a way to remove it and I was able to put her back on IE9.

In control panel in programs and features, click installed updates.

Go gown the list a little and there is the option to remove IE10 and revert back to IE9.

Neither my Laptop or my two desktops had any issues with IE9 or IE10.

If you just want a standalone download for 9 then here it is - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/i...wide-languages
Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
It is a FB game Behemoth, trouble is I have IE8 and can't download nine!
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-July-2013, 10:43
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: IE Why?

Just been thinking about this again, and unless you have some virus or other bug, I can't see any reason why any Windows download won't happen.

Have you run a full security scan including the boot sector, and also something like Malwarebytes as well ?
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14-July-2013, 12:47
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: IE Why?

Just been thinking about this again, and unless you have some virus or other bug, I can't see any reason why any Windows download won't happen.

Have you run a full security scan including the boot sector, and also something like Malwarebytes as well ?
Originally Posted by centaur View Post
yes centaur, done both. Update this week from MS still can't install I.E. 9 or my NVIDA driver I have tried most things even safe mode to no avail!!


Many thanks for all your help.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14-July-2013, 20:19
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: IE Why?

Do you get any error messages and if so, what are they ?

What is your ISP and what download speeds do you get ?

Do you have a very useful security prog called 'HiJackThis' installed, if you do, why not let it run a scan and post the list it produces here for analysis ?

If you don't, it can be downloaded from http://download.cnet.com/HijackThis/...6_4-51358.html
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14-July-2013, 20:35
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: IE Why?

Do you get any error messages and if so, what are they ?

What is your ISP and what download speeds do you get ?

Do you have a very useful security prog called 'HiJackThis' installed, if you do, why not let it run a scan and post the list it produces here for analysis ?

If you don't, it can be downloaded from http://download.cnet.com/HijackThis/...6_4-51358.html
Originally Posted by centaur View Post
Hi centaur,

I don't get error message after MS tried to in install IE9 when I go for it I will not take there tool bars etc. Maybe; they don't like me doing that.

I have done HJT and I couldn't find anything untoward.

I will post one for you in hope maybe; it can be fathomed out.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14-July-2013, 23:34
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: IE Why?

Am not sure what you mean about the toolbars. So far as I remember, you can choose either to have them showing or not. Or are we talking about non-windows toolbars which the download site wants to 'piggyback' them onto the W9 download ?
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15-July-2013, 09:11
Twinkle's Avatar
Twinkle Twinkle is offline
Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: IE Why?

Its the Bing tool bar with M.S. If you go to there site to download, you can un heck before installation. I do know how to disable or get rid off unwanted add ons. Just can't fathom out why I can't get the update.
__________________
We can't all be a star*
But we can all Twinkle*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
facebook, hijack, hijackthis, internet, isp, laptop, security, slow, speeds, virus, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!