Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17-June-2001, 10:09
stradbroke
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry Microsoft Train Simulator

Last Thursday received a copy of Train Simulator - installed it but was unable to get it running. My O/S is Windows ME and wonder if anyone is having similar problems. Changed my Graphics/Video card to NVIDA RIVA TNT2 Model 64 and at my local computer store the sim works fine using this card and on Windows 98. My system specs are : Pentium III 733MHz, 256MB RAM.
Only way to get it running appears to be going back to Win.98 which is the current plan.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-June-2001, 10:48
herne70
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have the MS Simulation game Crimson Skies and this played OK on either AMD650/GTS264mb or 550/Guillemot Pheonix16mb both with 256RAM. Used both 98SE and ME without problems.

I now have 1GhzAMD/GTS264mb and it freezes! After clearing CMOS my default is 5x100 =500mhz and if I play the game( before going back to 1Ghz) it is OK!

Hope this is of interest if 98 does not cure the problem..........what system does the dealer use to Demo it ?

These Simulations seem very "choosy" as I also have B17 and that has a life of it's own!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-June-2001, 11:15
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Hi stradbroke

welcome to TS!

when you say you couldnt get it running - what happens exactly - error messages? ie what part of it doesnt work?

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-June-2001, 12:15
stradbroke
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the welcome Silver.
When I select Train Sim all I get is a black screen and Timer.
Then have to select Ctrl/Alt/Del to get End Task Screen to get back to Desktop.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-June-2001, 18:32
stradbroke
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Smile

Actually managed to get the train sim working - after a fashion !
Can only use about 50% of the program - selection certain options just results in the computer locking up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-June-2001, 22:36
A2-B2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

More to the point where have you got a copy from?
I didn't think it was released until July 20th (ish)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-June-2001, 04:42
stradbroke
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Obtained my copy of MSTS from Strategic Plus Software
www.strategic-plus.co.uk
0208 977 8088
American version (same as UK except for box)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, fashion, screen, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!