Go Back   The Scream! > ISP FORUMS > Broadband Internet Access

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16-March-2007, 20:08
Innes
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 2 lines 2 broadbands 1 house. Is it possible?

Basically im in a property with one phone line, and one broadband account with bulldog. The other occupant of the house uses the internet (1mb) all the time and im finding it hard to even browse the web, which is frustrating.
Im trying to come up with solutions to gain access to broadband or internet of my own and perhaps faster than 1mb.

Is it technically possible to install an additional line into the house with BT and then get a second broadband account/isp/provider on this line. Thus having 2 phone lines and independent broadbands on each. Will the speed be shared?

I also note that putting my phone number and postcode into broadband checker says I should be able to get at least 5mb in speed however currently with bulldog we are only get a rather measly 1mb ( we are on a 8mb unlimited service ).

My thinking is that if i install a second line and get my own broadband on this line, then the occupant can enjoy his broadband and not impede on mine at the same time (thus we both have 1mb each). I phoned BT asking about this but I got the impression the operators really didnt understand my question technically, just saying it was possible in order to get me to fork out for a second line .

Oh and asking him not to use the internet so much or limit his speed isnt a solution in my eyes. 1mb for me really isnt adequate enough for 1 person let alone 2

Any suggestions or information would be appreciated

Thanks!

Innes.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-March-2007, 20:39
Memfis Memfis is offline
Former TS! Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ex TS! Team Mansion squatter
Posts: 3,894
Default Re: 2 lines 2 broadbands 1 house. Is it possible?

Yes you can get a second phone line installed.

Will cost an extra bt line rental, possibly an install cost & adsl isp monthly rental.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-March-2007, 23:02
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: 2 lines 2 broadbands 1 house. Is it possible?

yes it will work fine,. we have 2 lines / 2 adsl connections,. like mem says it's 2 lots of phone lines and 2 isp costs,. bulldog might put you in a 2nd line cheaper than BT - perhaps

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-March-2007, 23:42
Alex Atkin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 2 lines 2 broadbands 1 house. Is it possible?

As for the speed of your existing line, have you checked the normal things like extensions? You only need terminal 2 and 5 connected (usually the blue wires on BT standard extensions) and if others are connected it could slow your connection down. Recently I removed all other wires from a friends extensions (at the master socket) and it brought his broadband from 1.5-2Mbit up to 5Mbit. Even when connected to the master socket with the extensions connected it was dragging his speed down. With those wires disconnected we could even put the router on the longest extension and get 5Mbit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-March-2007, 02:14
SteveDouglas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 2 lines 2 broadbands 1 house. Is it possible?

Yes - internal wiring can cause all sorts of problems, especially if it's old. Even new wiring can cause "reflections" of the signal, which affects broadband performance.

One way to help that is the try and get the extension wiring for the phone plugged in AFTER the microfilter, in other words plug the filter (and therefore the broadband modem) into the master socket and connect the extension wiring into the phone socket on the filter. That way the extension wiring is isolated from the broadband signals.

Having the modem on the 'end' of a run of wiring is often OK, it's best not to have it somewhere in the middle where the signal then goes up the rest of the extension and reflects back from the end which has nothing plugged into it. Alternatively, as I say, plug the remainder of the extension wiring into the filter so it doesn't contain any broadband carrier.

If you want to PM me your landline number I'll put it into our control panel and see what speed it offers. Anything above a 2Mb connection is provided by a system called ADSL "Max" - which is an adaptive connection. The most you'll get is 8Mb, but you may get less, and it will fluctuate according to line characteristics and loading as well, but it's often faster, and never guaranteed (from anyone).

If you're getting a new line put in you might be lucky and get a cleaner connection than using an existing one, especially if there are no spare pairs of wires in the existing cable and they have to run a new one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-March-2007, 11:39
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: 2 lines 2 broadbands 1 house. Is it possible?

Why pay for another lot of line rental though ?

Surely it would be more cost effective to get either a 2 Mb or ADSL 'max' ISP on the existing line, buy a wireless router and share the monthly costs of all of this with the other party ?
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-March-2007, 12:48
tattaloop
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 2 lines 2 broadbands 1 house. Is it possible?

Yeah, and then fall foul of all this throttling and hidden FUP bullshit.

The other party would really love that!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adsl, broadband, bt, cable, connection, internet, isp, line, master socket, modem, phone, router, share, slow, speed, web, wireless

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Greer quits Big Brother house gem General Chatty Stuff 3 11-January-2005 19:00
4 DSL Lines Load Balanced DaVeKH Networking 3 15-January-2004 18:12
Phantom lines in MS Word XP Mushy Peas General Software 2 08-November-2003 01:56
2 ADSL Lines Memfis Networking 47 21-November-2002 17:44
Big Brother II Ian News 7 12-May-2001 20:41


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!