Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30-May-2010, 19:46
bsa250
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sata solid state disk in XP

Hi Folks,
Can anyone help here regards Sata setup for solid state 128 gig disk

in XP windows ?

What I have done so far, connected solid state disc and bios can see it as

attached to Sata 1 .

When I boot into Windows the Sata 1 disk cannot be seen !! so back into bios

and energize Sata raid with 128 gig solid state showing , reboot into

Windows and sata solid state 128 gig disc is now showing in disc

management as NTFS I set the disk to active and go through the setup

Windows XP routine to put OS on new drive, I press F6 to get the drivers

so can be installed at Windows request and get to end and " no drive found

by Windows" can anyone help to solve this problem ?

Many thanks Mack........
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-May-2010, 11:36
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Sata solid state disk in XP

Sorry to rain on your parade, so to speak, but I found this whilst looking for a solution :-

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/25...128gb-problems

It looks like Ssd's and XP are mutually exclusive, if this is correct.
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-May-2010, 20:55
bsa250
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Sata solid state disk in XP

Hi Centaur,

No thats okay anything at the moment that helps is fine, I think

I will post on Toms to see if I can get a reply regards the probs I have at the

min, thats good to know regards XP not being user friendly to SSD's

But thanks again and will follow it up..

Best regards Mack.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-June-2010, 19:47
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Sata solid state disk in XP

Hi Centaur,

No thats okay anything at the moment that helps is fine, I think

I will post on Toms to see if I can get a reply regards the probs I have at the

min, thats good to know regards XP not being user friendly to SSD's

But thanks again and will follow it up..

Best regards Mack.....
Originally Posted by bsa250 View Post
Glad to have helped, even if in a negative way. Hope the link can be proved wrong and that it IS possible to do this in XP.

__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-June-2010, 20:16
bsa250
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Sata solid state disk in XP

Hi Centaur,
Well it is resolved, I have my XP setup recognise the SSD at long

last !! It was simlple in the end just merely moving from Sata 1 to Sata 4 .

I assumed that I would receive the same message on all 4 Sata connectors

and low and behold recognised .

The messages that were posted in Tom's were "legacy mode" which I do not

have, "Trim mode" & "AHCI mode" all not found in my Bios settings.

Anyway got there in the end, but have taken your advice and others in Tom's

and have ordered Windows 7 as to work correctly with my SSD.


Many thanks for your initial link best regards Mack.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-June-2010, 19:05
centaur's Avatar
centaur centaur is offline
Optimistic Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sunny sarf devon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Sata solid state disk in XP

Very pleased to see that you managed to crack it in the end.
__________________
If you can keep your head when those around are losing theirs, maybe you just don't understand the situation.........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crack, settings, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard disk test 'surprises' Google everton66 Hardware 1 20-February-2007 14:01
remove solid peer (read this for a solution!) silver Spyware Removal 4 17-April-2005 17:24
Scan disk reports 3 damaged clusters on my HD CMC Hardware 15 31-October-2004 20:15
Installing new hard disk squidgy Hardware 18 05-March-2004 21:29
How do I get rid of "Tsc.exe-No Disk " ? Appuleius General Software 1 23-May-2003 07:37


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!