Old 10-July-2010, 12:54
noodlepoodle

Red face Paying twice

I have just found out that i have been paying for dial up and broadband for over 3 years. This might seem unbelievable to most of you but I am inexperienced and new to e-mails and hadn't questioned my direct debits until now. It amounts to over 720!!!!

I upgraded from dial up to broadband and they have continued to charge me for dial up which I don't use. I wrongly assumed that by upgrading they would no I don't require the dial up - what would be the point?

Is there any hope for me recovering some of my money back?

I have sent an e-mail about 2 hours ago and have yet to hear.
Old 11-July-2010, 00:12
Screamager

Default Re: Paying twice

Hi NP Welcome to THE SCREAM, 1st of all dialup is only chargeable as you use it......... as you say you have broadband as well so your dialup should have been stopped. To continue "dialup" your computer would need a 56K modem... find it, stop it, remove it,remove any phone connection from your computer (other than the broadband connection via filter unit) and get on to your ISP to find out what your current internet connection is... who is your ISP ? When we have more info my fellow sreamers will, I am sure be able to help you in your quest. Are you on cable or internet via copper phone line ?

JT
Old 11-July-2010, 08:10
noodlepoodle

Default Re: Paying twice

THANKS JAKTAR

I AM CURRENTLY WITH TISCALI/TALKTALK BUT AM IN THE PROCESS OF MOVING TO BT -RECEIVED MY MAC CODE FROM TALKTALK VIA E-MAIL - NO PROBLEM!!!! HOWEVER DURING THIS WHOLE PROCESS I REALISED I WAS PAYING WELL OVER THE ODDS AND QUERIED IT WITH THEM. HERE IS WHERE I AM UP TO WITH THEIR REPLIES-

"Thank you for contacting TalkTalk Customer Support regarding your billing account status.