Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > Hardware > ADSL Router Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #241  
Old 24-August-2013, 16:28
dadjadja dadjadja is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

is this hack to unlock brightbox to use it for all isps or what ?
thanx for info
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 16-September-2013, 18:28
markhuges markhuges is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Hello, Is this thread still Active?

Thanks Unlokia, for all your hard, work! or Gloosywhite from Modaco Thanks for all your work on the Orange San Diego!

Please reply or post baCK!

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 18-September-2013, 16:06
unlokia unlokia is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 237
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Hello, Is this thread still Active?

Thanks Unlokia, for all your hard, work! or Gloosywhite from Modaco Thanks for all your work on the Orange San Diego!

Please reply or post baCK!

Cheers!
Originally Posted by markhuges View Post
I am both , and thank you for the kind compliments - others have done a lot more too, so I extend all thanks to all contributors, not just to myself

You are welcome, for what I have done.
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 10-October-2013, 21:07
unlokia unlokia is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 237
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

I put these URLs into a browser on a machine in my network... a machine that has NEVER connected to the router pages... and it gives up PLAIN TEXT security data... try them youselves.

The machine was not even logged in on the router!


Brower: "Give me all your security credentials"

Router: "Oh, okay!"

http://192.168.1.1/cgi/cgi_status.js?t=1381432913046

http://192.168.1.1/cgi/cgi_wifi_wpa.js?t=1381433787099

http://192.168.1.1/cgi/cgi_atmint.js?t=1381434119553

http://192.168.1.1/cgi/cgi_status.js?t=1381434119550

http://192.168.1.1/cgi/cgi_security_...=1381434403382

http://192.168.1.1/cgi/cgi_wireless_...=1381434403382
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 21-October-2013, 14:35
whitenight639 whitenight639 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 62
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

I've got a new router with another ISP, family is moaning that the signal strength isnt as good as the Brightbox, Anyway I can use the brightbox as a repeater / bridge? I've not played with the brightbox in a few months and have forgotten alot, I've been building a PIDSPINO Motor speed controller with Arduino.

I want to put the brightbox in the middle of the house and boost signal for everyone, which is most applicable, a bridge or a repeater?
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 21-October-2013, 14:57
whitenight639 whitenight639 is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 62
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Its ok Google is my friend :-)
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 24-January-2014, 10:23
duryard duryard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Not sure if this will get me anywhere as the last post here was 4 months ago.

Fantastic work by you guys in supplying info which to be honest is over my head. Well some it.

Is it possible to setup some sort remote access or VPN on this brightbox router. I just want to allow my daughter access to the usb drive I have in usb slot, but from her house
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 06-July-2014, 21:57
drgeoff drgeoff is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

This is possible but I don't how you will do it with the easy method (unlockias web method above)

You can fiure it out tho with firebug, or can follow my method previously posted but change
Step 11 to..

/bin/util_ccfg_cli set username@wanETH=YOORUSERNAME@myISP.com

instead of username@wan#001

to do it the easy way you will need to find the variable that is assigned to that config value in the script, so for username@wan#001 the variable was something like ISP_Username1 so it will be different for the wanETH (might even be ISP_Username2 if your lucky).
Originally Posted by whitenight639 View Post
I've got unlockia's method to work for BT Infinity (Openreach modem).

setCfg("ISP_Username","bthomehub@btbroadband.com")

Note that there is no "1" in the "ISP_Username" string.

The Brightbox I have has v0.10.06.0001-OT (Wed Jan 22 22:50:41 2014) firmware. The line to click is 607.
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 11-July-2014, 14:13
drgeoff drgeoff is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Since I don't use fibre, I have no idea, sorry!
Originally Posted by unlokia View Post
Use unokia's method but with "ISP_Username" instead of "ISP_Username1". (No trailing "1".)

I'm posting this through a Brightbox and BT Infinity using after using:
setCfg("ISP_Username","bthub@btbroadband.com")

BTW my Brightbox has 2014 firmware and line 607 (rather than 606) was the one I clicked.
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 16-July-2014, 18:37
drgeoff drgeoff is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Apologies for repeated info above. It took the moderator so long to approve my first post that I though it had got lost in the deserts of the internet. :0
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 24-July-2014, 21:44
unlokia unlokia is offline
Screamager
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 237
Default New, Bright Box 1, patched (2014) firmware - manual install

Here is the freshly ripped, latest firmware for Bright Box 1:



Updates you to:
Runtime Code Version: v0.10.06.0001-OT (Wed Jan 22 22:50:41 2014)

Please see Scott Helme's fine article for more details:

https://scotthelme.co.uk/ee-brightbox-router-hacked/



Firmware download:

https://www.sendspace.com/file/hnbzdf


Follow this guide to update your Bright Box 1 to the latest (vulnerability-patched firmware, which was released in response to Scott Helme's fine work, earlier this year):


http://the-scream.co.uk/forums/showp...&postcount=229



## Don't wait for EE to update your Bright Box 1 - do it yourself, now - if you wait for EE, you could be waiting another two years! ##

!! IMPORTANT NOTE !!

If your bootloader (Advanced setup >> System) is newer than:

"Boot Code Version: v1.00.09.0002-OT (Wed Nov 9 10:21:21 2011)"


... then I wouldn't advise updating the bootloader image in this ZIP, as it is very likely older than your current installed bootloader. I had to downgrade mine for experimenting, last week, *before* I discovered my NAND backup method. It should work just fine - my Bright Box 1 is using the older (downgraded) bootloader and I have no issues.

[EDIT]

The bootloader may be updated by using the "bootldr" file inside THIS archive:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/r7e4zvfyyo...e_Rip.zip?dl=1

Thank you

Last edited by unlokia; 25-July-2014 at 14:03.
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 15-September-2014, 13:52
newt newt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

I have a relatively new Brightbox from EE and would like to access the internal control (ideally to allow DHCP requet passthrough, which doesn't seem to happen). Now, from the posts in this thread and ulokia's youtube video, I know that to gain access I need to go 198.168.1.1/u132xzp32aai.htm, and that the password can be determined as follows:

I have examined the javascript of the hidden web pages for the new EE firmware and I saw that the variable "hidepage" was read from the config. Also the protection.htm page called was referring to the variable "hidekey"

Code:
var hidepage=getCfg("hidepage");
if(hidepage==0)
{
    window_location_replace("parent.mainFrame", "protection.htm?pg=z983erv3210ba.htm");
}
else
{
    // Do original stuff here
}
My first thought was to use fiddler2 to respond with a modified page with the config checking removed. This worked a dream, but a bit complicated for a novice to setup.

I then noticed that "hidepage" and "hidekey" were among the list of TR069 parameters in the system section, so I though about setting this to something other than zero with the commands listed previously.

Code:
root@BrightBox:/ # /bin/util_ccfg_cli showcfg

Section: system
lang_code=0
time_zone=PST8PDT
gui_style=1
remote_mgmt_en=0
remote_mgnt_ip=0.0.0.0
remote_mgnt_mask=255.255.255.255
host_name=
wan_type=0
active_wan_type=1
ppp_pass_thru=0
default_ip=192.168.1.1
ccfg_bk_fname=backup.bin
hidepage=0
hidekey=5;m6ek
I though what the heck, lets try the string 5;m6ek as the password and it worked.
Originally Posted by mike-williams View Post
However, how do you get this information if you haven't already got telnet access? I want the password in order to enable telnet access!

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 15-December-2014, 10:20
cocoboco17 cocoboco17 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

This is possible but I don't how you will do it with the easy method (unlockias web method above)

You can fiure it out tho with firebug, or can follow my method previously posted but change
Step 11 to..

/bin/util_ccfg_cli set username@wanETH=YOORUSERNAME@myISP.com

instead of username@wan#001

to do it the easy way you will need to find the variable that is assigned to that config value in the script, so for username@wan#001 the variable was something like ISP_Username1 so it will be different for the wanETH (might even be ISP_Username2 if your lucky).
Originally Posted by whitenight639 View Post

To change for fibre username and password using the easy way, i had to put ISP_Username without any digit to the end. Hope to work4you.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 12-January-2015, 20:36
gobby gobby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Spent an age trying to get my EE brightbox to work with Plusnet, after downgrading to the correct firmware (bootcode was already the same as the one specified), I got as far as having CHAPs fail (as per the logs).

The issue I found was hidden in the youtube comments (credit to Adam Pollard). Basically setCfg("ISP_Password1","password") was not saving the password correctly, apparently it truncates it to 3 characters (according to the comment).

The workaround is simple - just enter the correct password in the input box on the page, follow the steps but only input setCfg("ISP_Username1","username") part.

This worked for me, just adding this tip to the thread because others might miss it or run into the same issue!
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 13-January-2015, 13:08
gobby gobby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

has anyone managed to use their brightbox on another ISP using the most upto date firmware (2014)?

I had to downgrade before realising it was other issues (described in my post above) that was causing me problems.
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 26-January-2015, 01:12
iisdbnull iisdbnull is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Has anybody successfully managed to connect a Brightbox to their Sky ADSL broadband? I've followed the instructions, downgraded my software, changed the username & password via Chrome (acquired using Wireshark), and everything looks good, however I just can't pick up an IP address. The box can see the signal and can tell me my upload & download speeds etc, but just no crucial connection.
Anybody know if there's something else required?
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 31-May-2015, 03:13
dvdgremlin dvdgremlin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Hi,

Did you resolve this problem of using a BB on Sky broadband ?

Has anyone logged in to it OK on SKY ?
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 23-November-2015, 00:21
rebgershon rebgershon is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

HELP!!
Hi there I'm new to this site.
I was an EE BB customer from July 2014-15 then I moved back to Sky at the end of my 1st year's contract. I am trying to be able to use the password reset detailed in this post but I could only find a file called broadband.htm when I keyed F12 etc. When I clicked on this I only saw a number 1 in the text window.
I decided to download the EE firmware (which I think now is older than what I had. I did this successfully and the router rebooted but it will no longer accept the original username &/or password as they've obviously been wiped with the firmware change.
So now I can't even login to try install my own username and password for sky. Could I please have the login details and is it possible to reset the original router details as well?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 23-November-2015, 21:37
rebgershon rebgershon is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

UPDATE
Hello again.
Since my post yesterday the router suddenly started to accept the login details so the firmware upgrade/downgrade hasn't wiped the basic router settings-phew!

I have managed to carry out the password reset to my own non @fs details. However, I'm a little concerned that the firmware now being run is older than what was there before-the router access pages certainly look different to before-and associated vulnerability issues.

System shows:
Runtime code version: v.0.10.06.0001-OT (Wed Jan 22 22:50:41 2014) & Boot code version: v1.00.10.0006-OT (Fri Sep 21 03:00:26 2012).

I understand there is a December 2014 version but I can't find a download for it and as I'm no longer with EE I can get an auto update. Has anyone managed to make a download version yet?
TIA.
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 21-May-2017, 18:55
EatingSnakes EatingSnakes is offline
Screamer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Default Re: [NEW] Orange "Bright Box" router hacking :-)

Hey guys

I've followed the guide to use my bb with Sky, it inserts the username and password, broadband state is connected, internet state is connected, but I'm getting no internet on any of my devices :S

If I reboot the router, broadband state says connected, but internet state now says disconnected, it doesn't show any subnet, gateway or dns :S

I'm running the original firmware linked in the guide, the firmware is dated 2012, can't find any more recent rips online.

Would appreciate any advice.

Cheers
ES
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
419, adsl, beauty, brightbox, broadband, compare, delay, dhcp, dns, feature, files, firmware, flash, hack, hacking, home, key, line, lock, make, mobile, nat, network, orange, port, product, router, settings, sharing, tools, web, wireless

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!! Weird Router Issue The Latman Networking 17 15-January-2011 17:39
Staic IP, Port Forward, DMZ CanineKiller TalkTalk 4 03-April-2010 09:43
Make Your Own Router - secrets revealed silver Networking 356 09-February-2010 01:13
Valve's Blocks Orange Box Users MAN WHO Games 5 07-November-2007 10:54


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!