Go Back   The Scream! > COMPUTER RELATED > P2P File Sharing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:28
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking emule low id using bt voyager 2000 wireless network HELP!!

Can anyone help me, I have recently installed a BT VOYAGER 2000 wireless network, so my pc upstairs has a broadband connection... works a treat. Right now for the problem... damn lowid on emule!! I used to download syuff like billy whizz, but now its awful. I have looked at various responses on the internet about this sort of problem and I know it means ensuring the port settings are all set to the same as emule or something, but although I do tinker with my pc, I really don't want to mess up what I have already, can the relevant expert please give any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:29
harvest breed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Have you done the Port Forwarding stuff on the Router Setup?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:31
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

not entirely sure how to do that
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:37
harvest breed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Check out Emule's FAQ Here

And the Ports to forward TCP and UDP Here
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:45
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Hi tingopher,

Bascially you need to tell your router to accept incoming connections on certain ports and forward them to the computer that runs emule

The place you need to look is likely the manuals for your router (each has it's own strange setup techniques!). The config window you need is something like 'external access' or 'port mapping' - or words to that effect.

To know which ports to map on the router, look on your emule connections screen.. something like this (borrowed from the Emule tips guide )



you can see the 2 ports numbers you need (the one on the left is tcp 4662 - the right one is udp 4672)..

you will also need to know your internal IP address so you can forward the ports from the router to your PC running emule,, on a windows box type

ipconfig /all

in a dos / command prompt window (not from the run... box)

Please ask if unsure

Sil

PS,. welcome to TS!

Last edited by silver; 30-March-2005 at 08:21.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:46
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

is there any chance you could help me further... I have actually looked at this site before, but its knowing where to type what and where
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:47
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thanks silver..... just looking into your reply... back in a mo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:48
harvest breed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That was better advice than mine silver

just tested my links and they both only go to the FAQ page ot the individual sections on Routers and ports I posted!

Most strange
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:52
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thank harvest breed, appreciated the advice all the same
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:53
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

silver bt's wireless network doesn't appear to be overly helpful with revealing exactly where I should be looking to change port settings
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-October-2003, 19:55
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

is there any info I can send you that might help?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-October-2003, 20:23
harvest breed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Look in your manual and see how you get to the setup page - it'll be the same one you had to navigate to on IE when you initially set up the router.

On that page there should be a Port Forwarding section.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-October-2003, 21:01
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

will do.... let you know how i get on
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-October-2003, 19:00
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

all works fine now thanks guys (n girls) I had to set up the ports using the 'online' router control panel, which is something Ive not come across before.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-October-2003, 19:01
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

one other thing, Ive got the logitech wireless quickcam... does this cause problems if you are using a wireless network, because as soon as I plugged it in I lost all network and internet connections.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-November-2003, 09:31
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

Hi tingopher,

it shouldn't interfere but who knows perhaps if they are really close together, or perhaps more likely it's something to do with the software that quickcam uses?

Can you give us some quick instructions on how to get the bt voyager working with emule and any helpful links etc?

Thanks!

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-November-2003, 13:08
tingopher
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Sil,

The best explanation of what to do is here http://www.adslguide.org.uk/hardware...q3/bt-2000.asp hope this helps.

Good luck

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-November-2003, 13:59
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default

cool

Thanks!

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-October-2004, 08:08
silver's Avatar
silver silver is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 12,177
Default Re: emule low id using bt voyager 2000 wireless network HELP!!

handy site scoobs posting in <thread>:Bit Torrent tweaks and tips guide

http://portforward.com/ - tells how to open ports on routers

Sil
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 25-April-2005, 17:11
DarkoD
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: emule low id using bt voyager 2000 wireless network HELP!!

Hi all.

Sorry if this is slightly off topic. I'm a "light" eMule user from London, UK, just from time to time. Until recently I had 1Mb Telewest Broadband and eMule was working OK (never fast enough for our taste of course).

I have recently moved and changed to 2Mb BT Broadband. I decided to download something few days back and I noticed that it is REALLY, REALLY slow!!! Way too slow for a connection twice faster.

The port forwarding is done as instructed by eMule installation. Both the latest 0.45b and the earlier 0.42 versions are slow.

1. Can it be a detection and block of such programs by BT?

2. The exact setup is with two routers in fact. BT Voyager 205 modem/router cabled to Linksys 4 port / 11b wireless router and my PC is cabled to one of the ports (not using wireless). Can it be an issue with having two routers? I'm pretty sure the forwarding is fine because the initial port test after installation failed until I set up the port forwarding on both routers. Should I worry about incoming/outgoing forwarding having two routers?

If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it. Thanks. Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 17-February-2010, 21:56
HELP
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Re: emule low id using bt voyager 2000 wireless network HELP!!

You're not alone! I get the same message with my BT-VOYAGER2091 router! HELP!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broadband, bt, computer, connection, forward, internet, line, lost, modem, network, online, port, reviews, router, screen, settings, slow, software, voyager, windows, wireless

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2014 The Scream!